Drug Addiction in Teenagers: A Personal Journey and the Road to Recovery

Dreamer’s Dairy ✨
3 min readJun 13, 2024

Understanding the Roots of Addiction

Photo by Matteo Badini on Unsplash

Teenage years can be incredibly tumultuous. A whirlwind, really. These formative years are often filled with challenges, and for some, they pave the way to substance abuse. Various factors contribute, especially when home isn’t a sanctuary. When trust is nonexistent & respect is missing, teenagers might feel lost and undervalued. Children from broken families face an even higher risk because parents may be preoccupied with their own problems, unintentionally neglecting their kids’ emotional needs.

My Personal Battle with Addiction

Let me share my story. I come from a broken family. Lost my mother at just ten. Raised by my stepfamily, I experienced mental torture that I couldn’t share with my dad. He was under the illusion that everything was fine between us, creating a massive communication gap. My stepmother masked her true nature behind a facade of care, while inside I wrestled with insomnia and struggled to concentrate in school. This led to poor performance & constant complaints from teachers, which made my dad think even less of me.

--

--

Dreamer’s Dairy ✨

Sharing insights and stories about life, culture, and personal experiences.